Greenville County
Search GreenvilleCounty.org:
i.e. "Pay my taxes", "Parks & Recreation", "Marriage Licenses", etc.
Search
Probate Court
Marriage License

Updated August 23, 2022.

Welcome to the Marriage License Division of the Probate Court. We are accepting applications for marriage license in person or online. Our office is located in Suite 5600 of the Probate Court Annex near the Veterans Wall at Greenville County Square, 301 University Ridge, Greenville SC 29601. We are open Monday through Friday from 8:30 to 4:30 PM. We are closed on most major holidays. Please read the information on this page carefully and contact us at 864-467-7571, 864-467-7468 or email us at probatemarriage@greenvillecounty.org if you have questions or would like to schedule an appointment.

Best Wishes on Your Upcoming Marriage!
Requirements to Obtain a Marriage License

To obtain a marriage license in South Carolina:

  • You must have capacity to marry. If a Court has declared you an incapacitated person, you are not eligible for a marriage license in South Carolina.
  • If you are recently divorced, please make sure that your divorce decree has been signed by a Judge and filed with the Clerk of Court’s Office.
  • Applicants who do not have a Social Security card will be required to present their resident alien card or a statement from the Social Security Office that you do not qualify for a Social Security number.
  • You must be 18 years old. If you are under 18 but at least 16 years old, please schedule an appointment by contacting our office at 864-467-7571, 864-467-7468, or email us at probatemarriage@greenvillecounty.org.
Your Wedding Ceremony

Marriage licenses issued anywhere in South Carolina are valid for ceremonies performed anywhere in South Carolina. However, SC marriage licenses are not valid for out of state ceremonies.

Marriage ceremonies are not performed in the Probate Court office. See this webpage for more information on authorized officiants and a list of notaries.

IT IS A MISDEMEANOR FOR YOUR MINISTER, RABBI OR NOTARY TO PRESIDE OVER YOUR WEDDING CEREMONY IF YOUR FIANCE AND YOU DO NOT HAVE A MARRIAGE LICENSE. This means, if the couple has no license, no wedding can be performed.


Plan Ahead to Avoid Spoiling Your Wedding

To avoid a wedding crisis, consider the date of your wedding, our office holiday closing schedule, and our office hours as you plan when to begin the application process.

You are welcome to apply for your license online or in person. To schedule an appointment to apply in person, please email us at probatemarriage@greenvillecounty.org or call us at 864-467-7571 or 864-467-7468.

A 24 hour waiting period is required by law between the time the application is completed and filed and the time the license is issued.

Example of good planning: If your wedding is on a Saturday or Sunday, the latest you should begin the process is the Tuesday just prior to your wedding. We suggest you begin the process 2 weeks in advance to allow for any unknowns.


Applying for Your Marriage License Online

Marriage License Worksheet

If you are applying for your license online, please read the instructions below carefully and email us at probatemarriage@greenvillecounty.org or call us at 864-467-7571 or 864-467-7468 if you have questions. You will need the following to apply for your license online:

  • Valid government issued ID for both applicants, such as drivers license, military ID, passport
  • Social security cards for both applicants, or other official documents which verify social security numbers, and
  • Major credit card for payment

Please note that applications are processed according to the date of your wedding. This means that licenses for weddings scheduled before yours will be processed first.

Step One: The Marriage License Worksheet
Provide the requested information on the Marriage License worksheet. The information you provide is used to prepare your application. At the end of the marriage license worksheet, you will see a payment icon for payment of the marriage license fee online. After you pay your fee, you will see an icon to upload each applicant’s valid government issued photo ID (drivers license, military ID, passport, etc.) and social security cards or other official documents which verify your social security numbers.

After you upload your documents, please review the disclaimer and indicate you have read and understood each item. You may pick up your license in person or receive it by mail. Please check the appropriate box to indicate your choice. It is important that you remember your selection to avoid unnecessary delay in receiving your license.

After you have reviewed the disclaimer and made your selections, the worksheet will be automatically transmitted to our office.


Step Two: The Application
After receiving all of the above, our office will prepare and email the application and verification forms to the email address listed on the online worksheet.

We will email the application and verification forms to the first person listed on the application form.

When you receive the application and verification forms, review them carefully for any mistakes. Then, each of you must sign the application above the last four digits of your respective social security numbers and sign the verification before a licensed notary public. You may make arrangements with court staff to come into the office to sign the forms.

Next, the original application and verification with your original signatures must be returned to our office in person or by mail. Or, you may drop off the forms at our "Drop Box" located outside our office doors.

Please understand that our office cannot control when mail is received by us or by you. If you are pressed for time, you are encouraged to make arrangements with court staff to hand-deliver the application to our office and/or pick up the marriage license from our office.


Step Three: Issuing the License

If everything is in order, our office will issue the license. If you selected in person pick up on the worksheet, one of the applicants must show picture ID to pick up the license Monday through Friday, 8:30 to 4:30 P.M., exclusive of holidays. It is not necessary for both applicants to be present to pick up the license.

If you are receiving your license by mail, we will mail the license to Applicant one’s address.

Please note that we are required to use a mandatory form generated by SCDHEC (South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control) in order to issue your license. We have no control over the information requested in the license form utilized by SCDHEC. If you have comments or suggestions about changes to the form, please contact SCDHEC at 803-898-3432.


Step Four: Signing and Recording your License
The license itself consists of 3 identical copies, one for the spouses, one for Probate Court and one for S.C. DHEC. When you sign the Marriage License, sign it using the same name you used when you signed the application. Spouses who intend to change their last name after their marriage do not sign the Marriage License using their intended new last name.

The S.C. DHEC and Probate Court copies must be returned to our office within 15 days after your ceremony to properly record your marriage. You will have a return envelope for mailing.

Keep your license in a safe place. You may need it in the future for passports, insurance, or legal proceedings.

Congratulations Again and Thank You For Planning Ahead!


 



Top