Some applications on The Greenville County Website will be down temporarily on Saturday, April 20th from 8:00 a.m. until 4:00 p.m. for scheduled maintenance. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Greenville County
i.e. "Pay my taxes", "Parks & Recreation", "Marriage Licenses", etc.
County Council
Boards & Commissions
Freetown Special Tax District Commission

Total Members: 3
Upcoming Vacancies: 2


We are not currently accepting applications for this board/commission.


Freetown Community Special Tax District was created to provide, within the district, for the health, safety and welfare by installing and maintaining street lights, controlling litter and other health hazards along the public rights-of-way, and for maintaining and promoting improvements for the entrances, exits, and rights-of-way.

The Freetown Community Tax District Commission is the governing body of the Freetown Community Special Tax District consisting of five (5) members appointed by County Council. All members of the Commission shall reside within the geographical boundaries of the special tax district. County Council shall fill vacancies for the remainder of the unexpired term. The Commission shall be responsible for maintaining and operating the special tax district in accordance with the purposes set forth in Section 3 of Ordinance No. 2433 and shall adopt its own rules and operating procedures.

The board meets on an as needed basis.