

GREENVILLE COUNTY COUNCIL

Minutes Organizational Meeting January 5, 2021 5:03 p.m.

County Square - Council Chambers Remote Participation by Council Members

Council Members

Mr. Butch Kirven, Chairman, District 27 Mr. Willis Meadows, Vice Chairman, District 19 Mrs. Xanthene Norris, Chairman Pro Tem, District 23 Mr. Joe Dill, District 17 Mr. Mike Barnes, District 18 Mr. Steven Shaw, District 20 Mr. Chris Harrison, District 21 Mr. Stan Tzouvelekas, District 22 Mrs. Liz Seman, District 24 Mr. Ennis Fant, Sr., District 25 Mr. Lynn Ballard, District 26 Mr. Dan Tripp, District 28

Pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act, notice of the meeting date, time, place and agenda was posted online and on the bulletin board at County Square and made available to the newspapers, radio stations, television stations and concerned citizens.

Council Members Absent

None

Staff Present

Joe Kernell, County Administrator Mark Tollison, County Attorney John Hansley, Deputy County Administrator Regina McCaskill, Clerk to Council Jessica Stone, Deputy Clerk to Council Pam Gilliam, Administrative Assistant

Others Present

Call to Order

Chairman Butch Kirven

None

Chairman Kirven stated the purpose of the meeting was to elect officers for the next two years. Council would get organized over the next few weeks and tackle the serious work thereafter. Organizational Meetings could be very intense at times. Some Council Members may leave the meeting very unhappy; however, it was important to come together and do the best job possible for the citizens of Greenville County. He was confident they could work together in the spirit of brotherhood and forgiveness. Mr. Kirven stated it was an immense privilege to serve on County Council.

Pledge of Allegiance

Chairman Kirven presented a plaque to Vice-Chairman Meadows in recognition for his service as Council Vice-Chairman for the past two years.

Vice-Chairman Meadows presented a plaque to Chairman Kirven in recognition for his service as Council Chairman for the past two years.

Item (4) <u>Election of Council Chairman</u>

Chairman Kirven opened the floor for nominations for County Council Chairman.

- Action: Councilor Barnes nominated Councilor Meadows for County Council Chairman.
- Action: Councilor Ballard nominated Councilor Seman for County Council Chairman.
- Action: Councilor Ballard moved to close nominations.

Motion to close nominations carried unanimously.

By a roll call vote of seven for Councilor Meadows (Dill, Barnes, Meadows, Shaw, Harrison, Tzouvelekas and Tripp) and five for Councilor Seman (Norris, Seman, Fant, Ballard and Kirven), Councilor Meadows was elected County Council Chairman.

Item (5) <u>Transferring of the Gavel</u>

Councilor Kirven passed the gavel to Chairman Meadows.

Item (6) <u>Election of Council Vice-Chairman</u>

Chairman Meadows opened the floor for nominations for County Council Vice-Chairman.

Councilor Dill stated he had initially expressed an interest in serving as County Council Vice-Chairman; however, he was convinced that Councilor Tripp was the ideal candidate for the seat, given his years of experience in the State House and in the business world.

- Action: Councilor Dill nominated Councilor Tripp for County Council Vice-Chairman.
- Action: Councilor Seman nominated Councilor Ballard for County Council Vice-Chairman.
- Action: Councilor Seman moved to close nominations.

Motion to close nominations carried unanimously.

By a roll call vote of seven for Councilor Tripp (Dill, Barnes, Meadows, Shaw, Harrison, Tzouvelekas and Tripp) and five for Councilor Ballard (Norris, Seman, Fant, Ballard and Kirven), Councilor Tripp was elected County Council Vice-Chairman.

Item (7) <u>Adjournment</u>

Action: Councilor Ballard moved to adjourn the meeting.

Motion carried unanimously and the meeting adjourned at 5:12 p.m.

Regina G. McCaskill Clerk to Council