

Committee of the Whole Minutes April 5, 2022 4:32 p.m.

County Square - Council Chambers

Council Members

Mr. Willis Meadows, Chairman, District 19
Mr. Dan Tripp, Vice-Chairman, District 28
Mrs. Xanthene Norris, Chairman Pro Tem, District 23
Mr. Joe Dill, District 17
Mr. Mike Barnes, District 18
Mr. Stephen Shaw, District 20
Mr. Chris Harrison, District 21
Mr. Stan Tzouvelekas, District 22

Mr. Ennis Fant, Sr., District 25 Mr. Lynn Ballard, District 26 Mr. Butch Kirven, District 27

Mrs. Liz Seman, District 24

Pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act, notice of the meeting date, time, place and agenda was posted online and on the bulletin board at County Square and made available to the newspapers, radio stations, television stations and concerned citizens.

Council Members Absent

None

Staff Present

Joe Kernell, County Administrator Mark Tollison, County Attorney Regina McCaskill, Clerk to Council Jessica Stone, Deputy Clerk to Council

Others Present

Martine Helou
Becky Maddox, Director, The Phoenix Center
Heather Currie, Chairman, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission

None

Call to Order Chairman Willis Meadows

<u>Invocation</u> Councilor Steve Shaw

Item (3) Approval of Minutes

Action: Councilor Seman moved to approve the minutes of the March 1, 2022, Committee of the Whole meeting.

Motion carried unanimously.

Item (4) Executive Session

Action: Vice-Chairman Tripp moved to go into Executive Session for the discussion of appointments to the

Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission.

Motion carried unanimously and the Committee of the Whole entered Executive Session at 4:34 p.m.

Reconvened

County Attorney Mark Tollison reported the Committee of the Whole out of Executive Session stating no action was taken during that session. The regular Committee of the Whole meeting reconvened at 5:04 p.m.

Item (5) Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission / Interviews and Nominations (4 vacancies)

Ms. McCaskill stated that Martine Helou had withdrawn her candidacy for the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission. The action taken at the March 15 County Council meeting sent the names of the Alcohol and Drug Abuse candidates back to the Committee of the Whole for reconsideration. With the withdrawal of Ms. Helou, the four candidates, by prior ballot vote, were Ernest Hamilton, Veeral Oza, Herman Roberts and Theresa Thompson.

Action: Mr. Tripp moved to forward the names to full Council.

Motion carried unanimously.

Item (6) Board and Commission / Committee Nominations

a. Committee on Public Works and Infrastructure

i. Parks, Recreation and Tourism Advisory Committee (2 vacancies)

On behalf of the Committee, Councilor Seman presented the names of **Thomas Bates, Jr.** (D. 17) and **Frank Mansbach** (D. 24) to fill two vacancies on the Parks, Recreation and Tourism Advisory Committee.

Action:

Councilor Seman moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation **Thomas Bates, Jr. and Frank Mansbach** to fill two vacancies on the Parks, Recreation and Tourism Advisory Committee.

Motion carried unanimously.

ii. South Carolina Technology and Aviation Center Board (1 vacancy)

On behalf of the Committee, Councilor Seman presented the name of **Henry McCullough** (D. 22) to fill one vacancy on the South Carolina Technology and Aviation Center Board.

Action:

Councilor Seman moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation **Henry McCullough** to fill one vacancy on the South Carolina Technology and Aviation Center Board.

Motion carried unanimously.

b. Committee on Public Safety and Human Services

i. Greater Greenville Sanitation District Board (1 vacancy)

On behalf of the Committee, Councilor Barnes presented the name of **Brian Garrison** (D. 22) to fill one vacancy on the Greater Greenville Sanitation District Board.

Councilor Kirven moved to add David Davis to the list of nominees.

Action:

Councilor Ballard moved to close nominations and send forward the names of **Brian Garrison and David Davis** to full Council for a ballot vote.

Motion carried unanimously.

c. Planning and Development Committee

i. Zoning Board of Appeals (1 vacancy)

On behalf of the Committee, Councilor Dill presented the name of **Brittany** Farrar (D. 24) to fill one vacancy on the Zoning Board of Appeals.

Action:

Councilor Dill moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation **Brittany Farrar** to fill one vacancy on the Zoning Board of Appeals.

Motion carried unanimously.

d. Committee on Finance

i. Arena District (3 vacancies)

On behalf of the Committee, Councilor Tripp presented the names of **Clifton Dyer** (D. 26), **Barry Formanack** (D. 22) and **Dante Russo** (D. 21) to fill three vacancies on the Arena District Board.

Action:

Vice-Chairman Tripp moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation **Clifton Dyer, Barry Formanack and Dante Russo** to fill three vacancies on the Arena District Board.

Motion carried unanimously.

ii. Greenville Area Development Corporation (3 vacancies)

On behalf of the Committee, Councilor Tripp presented the names of **Justin Bagwell** (D. 26), **William Moon** (D. 27) and **Charles Piszczor** (D. 27) to fill three vacancies on the Greenville Area Development Corporation Board.

Action:

Vice-Chairman Tripp moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation **Justin Bagwell, William Moon and Charles Piszczor** to fill three vacancies on the Greenville Area Development Corporation Board.

Motion carried unanimously.

Item (7) Special Tax District Nominations

a. Boiling Springs Fire District (1 vacancy)

On behalf of Councilor Tzouvelekas and himself, Councilor Harrison presented the name of **William Flack** (D. 21) to fill one vacancy on the Boiling Springs Fire District.

Action: Councilor Harrison moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation William Flack to fill one vacancy

on the Boiling Springs Fire District.

Motion carried unanimously.

5:09 p.m. Chairman Meadows turned the gavel over to Vice-Chairman Tripp.

b. Buxton Special Tax District (1 vacancy)

Councilor Meadows presented the name of Amy Stone (D. 19) to fill one vacancy on the Buxton Special

Tax District.

Action: Councilor Meadows moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation Amy Stone to fill one vacancy

on the Buxton Special Tax District.

Motion carried unanimously.

5:10 p.m. Vice-Chairman Tripp returned the gavel to Chairman Meadows.

c. Linkside Special Tax District (2 vacancies)

Councilor Shaw presented the names of David Armstrong (D. 20) and Norman Barrett (D. 20) to fill two

vacancies on the Linkside Special Tax District.

Action: Councilor Shaw moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation David Armstrong and Norman

Barrett to fill two vacancies on the Linkside Special Tax District.

Motion carried unanimously.

Item (8) Adjournment

Action: Councilor Dill moved to adjourn the meeting.

Motion carried unanimously and the meeting adjourned at 5:11 p.m.

Respectfully submitted:

Regina G. McCaskill Clerk to Council