MINUTES GREENVILLE COUNTY COUNCIL COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC WORKS AND INFRASTRUCTURE REGULAR MEETING September 19, 2017 3:30 P.M. County Square – Conference Room D

Pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act, notice of the meeting date, time, place and agenda was posted on the bulletin board at County Square and made available to the newspapers, radio stations and television stations and concerned citizens.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT:

CHAIRWOMAN, LIZ SEMAN LYNN BALLARD JOE DILL FRED PAYNE WILLIS MEADOWS

COMMITTEE MEMBERS ABSENT:

STAFF PRESENT:

HESHA GAMBLE, COUNTY ENGINEER PAULA GUCKER, ASSISTANT COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR HELEN HAHN, ADMINISTRATIVE COORDINATOR KIM WUNDER, ASSISTANT COUNTY ATTORNEY

PLANNING COMMISSIONERS PRESENT:

NICK HOLLINGSHAD

CALL TO ORDER:

Chairwoman Seman called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m.

INVOCATION:

Chairwoman Seman provided the invocation.

- Item (3) Approval of the Minutes of the Regular Meeting of PWI Committee on September 5, 2017
- **MOTION:** By Mr. Ballard to approve the minutes of the September 5, 2017 Committee meeting as presented. The motion carried unanimously by voice vote.
- Item (4)Commissioning of Code Enforcement Officers (Code Compliance)Paula Gucker addressed the Committee members introducing the Code EnforcementOfficers from Code Compliance which will be commissioned. She explained each
inspectors duties and the certifications they have.

Jeremy Stanley	Darren Brock
Eric Bradley	Alan Wellbrock
Ralph Snow	Bruce Reynolds

- **MOTION:** By Mr. Dill to approve the Commission of the Code Enforcement Officers with Code Compliance and forward the names to full Council. The motion carried unanimously by voice vote.
- Item (5)
 Commissioning of Code Enforcement Officers (Land Development)

 Ms. Gucker introduced the Code Enforcement Officers with the Land Development

 Department .

Craig Burgess Jeff Lawson

MOTION: By Mr. Payne to approve the Commission of the Code Enforcement Officers with Land Development and forward the names to full Council. The motion carried unanimously by voice vote.

Item (6) <u>Boards and Commission – Interviews and Nominations</u> Library Board of Trustees – five vacancies and nine applicants

- Brian Aufmuth (D.27) incumbent
- Kenneth E. Baxter (D.25)
- John Erwin (D.23)
- Carole J. Gibson (D.25)
- Richard Jensen (D. 19) incumbent
- Glenda Julian (D.17) incumbent
- Fritz Moise (D. 28) incumbent
- Deryl Whetsell Paradis (D.22) incumbent
- Jason Strand (D. 20)

A ballot vote was held and Chairwoman Seman announced the following were nominated and would be forwarded to full Council to fill five vacancies on the Library Board of Trustees: Brian Aufmuth (D.27), Kenneth Baxter (D. 25), Richard Jensen (D. 10), Glenda Julian (D. 17) and Jason Starnd (D. 20).

Museum Commission - two vacancies and three applicants

- Stephen Astemborski (D. 28)
- Mary Johnson (D. 24) incumbent
- Emelia Stephenson (D. 24) incumbent
- •

A ballot vote was held and Chairwoman Seman announced the following were nominated and would be forwarded to full Council to fill two vacancies on the Museum Commission. Mary Johnson, (D. 24) and Emelia Stephenson (D. 24).

Item (6) Resolution in Support of Slater Water Sewer and Light District

Assistant County Attorney Kim Wunder addressed the Committee members with a Resolution. She noted Slater Water, Sewer and Light District she believed was created in the 1940's and provided services for almost 70 years until it was no longer able to provide services. In 2010 it became clear it could no longer provide safe drinking water. With the assistance of Greenville County, Greenville Water came and installed new infrastructure and the Metropolitan Sewer Subdistrict installed new infrastructure. The three entities along with the Commissioners of the Slater Water Sewer and Light District put together a transition plan to move services from Slater to Greenville Water and Metro. She was asking County Council to dissolve this district.

MOTION: By Mr. Dill to approve and forward the Resolution in Support of Slater Water Sewer and Light District. The motion carried unanimously by voice vote.

Adjournment

MOTION: By Mr. Ballard to adjourn. Without objection the meeting adjourned at 3:59 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Helen Hahn Administrative Coordinator