

GREENVILLE COUNTY COUNCIL MINUTES

COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE

OCTOBER 3, 2017 5:01 p.m. COUNTY SQUARE - CONFERENCE ROOM D

COUNCIL MEMBERS

MR. BUTCH KIRVEN, CHAIRMAN
MR. WILLIS MEADOWS, VICE CHAIRMAN
MRS. XANTHENE NORRIS, CHAIRMAN PRO TEM
MR. JOE DILL
MR. MIKE BARNES
MR. SID CATES
MR. RICK ROBERTS
MR. BOB TAYLOR
MRS. LIZ SEMAN
MR. ENNIS FANT, SR.

Mr. Lynn Ballard Mr. Fred Payne

Pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act, notice of the meeting date, time, place and agenda was posted on the bulletin board at the County Square and made available to the newspapers, radio stations, television stations and concerned Citizens.

STAFF PRESENT

Joe Kernell, County Administrator
Mark Tollison, County Attorney
John Hansley, Deputy County Administrator
Theresa Kizer, Clerk to Council
Regina McCaskill, Deputy Clerk to Council
Bob Mihalic, Governmental Relations Officer

OTHERS PRESENT

None

CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Butch Kirven

INVOCATION

Councilor Mike Barnes

Item (3) APPROVAL OF MINUTES

ACTION:

Councilor Norris moved to approve the minutes of the September 19, 2017, Regular Committee of the Whole meeting.

Motion carried unanimously.

Item (4) RESOLUTION DISSOLVING THE GREENVILLE COUNTY ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION

ACTION:

On behalf of the Committee, Councilor Payne moved to adopt a resolution authorizing the dissolution of the Greenville County Economic Development Corporation; and other matters related thereto.

Motion carried unanimously.

item (5) BOARD AND COMMISSION / COMMITTEE NOMINATIONS

(a) Committee on Finance

1. Accommodations Tax Advisory Committee (5 vacancies)

ACTION:

Councilor Taylor moved to elect Michael Heater, Joyce McCarrell and Penny Cooper to fill three of five vacancies on the Accommodations Tax Advisory Committee and to forward the names to full Council.

Motion carried unanimously.

(b) Committee on Public Safety

Airport Commission (1 vacancy)

ACTION:

Councilor Roberts moved to elect Stanley Mays to fill one vacancy on the Airport Commission and to forward the name to full Council.

Councilor Norris stated she was asked to nominate a candidate from the floor but she cast the tie-breaking vote during Committee and was unable to do so.

Motion carried unanimously.

2. Airport Environs Planning Commission (2 vacancies)

ACTION:

Councilor Roberts moved to elect Van Swafford and Brad Medcalf to fill two vacancies on the Airport Environs Planning Commission and to forward the names to full Council.

Motion carried unanimously.

3. Greater Greenville Sanitation Commission (1 vacancy)

ACTION:

Councilor Roberts moved to elect Ray Earnest to fill one vacancy on the Greater Greenville Sanitation Commission and to forward the name to full Council.

Motion carried unanimously.

4. Metropolitan Sewer Subdistrict (1 vacancy)

ACTION:

Councilor Roberts moved to elect Henry Davis to fill one vacancy on the Metropolitan Sewer Subdistrict and to forward the name to full Council.

Motion carried unanimously.

(c) Planning and Development Committee

1. Historic Preservation Commission (5 vacancies)

ACTION:

Councilor Ballard moved to elect Collie Breedlove, Jr., Penelope Forrester, Anne Peden, Dan Roberts and Jason Smit to fill five vacancies on the Historic Preservation Commission and to forward the names to full Council.

Motion carried unanimously.

Board of Zoning Appeals (3 vacancies)

ACTION:

Councilor Ballard moved to elect Lindsey Jacobs, William Powers and Arthur Smith to fill three vacancies on the Board of Zoning Appeals and to forward the names to full Council.

Motion carried unanimously.

(d) Committee on Public Works and Infrastructure

1. Library Board (5 vacancies)

ACTION:

Councilor Seman moved to elect Brian Aufmuth, Kenneth Baxter, Richard Jensen, Glenda Julian and Jason Strand to fill five vacancies on the Library Board and to forward the names to full Council.

ACTION:

Councilor Cates moved to add Deryl Paradis to the list of nominees.

ACTION:

Councilor Seman moved to close nominations and send forward the names of Brian Aufmuth, Kenneth Baxter, Richard Jensen, Glenda Julian, Jason Strand and Deryl Paradis to full County Council for a ballot vote.

Motion carried unanimously.

2. Museum Commission (2 vacancies)

ACTION:

Councilor Seman moved to elect Mary Johnson and Emelia Stephenson to fill two vacancies on the Museum Commission and to forward the names to full Council.

Motion carried unanimously.

Item (6) SPECIAL TAX DISTRICT ELECTIONS

(a) Chanticleer Community Commission (2 vacancies)

ACTION:

Councilor Seman moved to elect Kathryn Freedman and Mary Horne to fill two vacancies on the Chanticleer Community Commission and to forward the names to full Council.

Motion carried unanimously.

(b) Devenger Pointe Tax District (3 vacancies)

ACTION:

Councilor Roberts moved to elect Tripp Hayes, Barbara McCracken and David Snider to fill three vacancies on the Devenger Pointe Tax District and to forward the names to full Council.

Motion carried unanimously.

(c) Donaldson Fire Service Area District (1 vacancy)

ACTION:

Councilor Fant moved to elect Michael Felix to fill one vacancy on the Donaldson Fire Service Area District and to forward the name to full Council.

Motion carried unanimously.

(d) Lake Forest Special Tax District (1 vacancy)

ACTION:

Councilor Taylor moved to elect Hugh McVeety to fill one vacancy on the Lake Forest Special Tax District and to forward the name to full Council.

Motion carried unanimously.

(e) Old Mills Estates Tax District (2 vacancies)

ACTION:

Councilor Cates moved to elect David Dalby to fill one of two vacancies on the Old Mills Estates Tax District and to forward the name to full Council.

Motion carried unanimously.

Item (7) ADJOURNMENT

ACTION:

Councilor Dill moved to adjourn.

Motion carried unanimously and the meeting was adjourned at 5:13 p.m.

Respectfully submitted:

Theresa B. Kizer, Clerk to Council