

MINUTES GREENVILLE COUNTY COUNCIL

Committee of the Whole March 1, 2016 4:30 p.m. County Square – Conference Room D

COUNCIL MEMBERS

Mr. Bob Taylor, Chairman Mr. Butch Kirven, Vice Chairman Mr. Joe Dill Mr. Joe Baldwin Mr. Willis Meadows Mr. Sid Cates Arrived @ 4:46 P.M. Mr. Jim Burns Mrs. Xanthene Norris Mrs. Liz Seman Mrs. Lottie Gibson Absent Mr. Lynn Ballard Mr. Fred Payne

Pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act, notice of the meeting date, time, place and agenda was posted on the bulletin board at the County Square and made available to the newspapers, radio stations, television stations and concerned Citizens.

COUNCIL MEMBER(S) ABSENT:

Lottie Gibson, District 25

STAFF PRESENT:

Joe Kernell, County Administrator John Hansley, Deputy County Administrator Mark Tollison, County Attorney Theresa Kizer, Clerk to Council Regina McCaskill, Deputy Clerk to Council Paula Gucker, Assistant County Administrator, Public Works

OTHERS PRESENT

None

CALL TO ORDER

INVOCATION

Chairman Bob Taylor

Chairman Bob Taylor

Item (3) APPROVAL OF MINUTES

ACTION: Councilor Seman moved to approve the minutes of the February 16, 2016 Regular Committee of the Whole Meeting.

Without objection, motion carried.

Item (4) PLANNING COMMISSION MATTERS

Councilor Dill stated he wanted County Council to address attendance for Boards and Commissions members as well as other issues.

Item (5) EXECUTIVE SESSION

ACTION: Councilor Dill moved to go into Executive Session for the discussion of employment, appointment, compensation, promotion, demotion, discipline, or release of an employee, a student, or a person regulated by a public body or the appointment of a person to a public body.

Motion carried and the Committee of the Whole entered into Executive Session at 4:33 p.m.

RECONVENE

Mr. Tollison reported Greenville County Committee of the Whole out of Executive Session stating no action was taken during the session.

The meeting reconvened at 4:46 p.m.

Item (6) MEMBER REMOVAL PER BOARD AND COMMISSION POLICY – SECTION 17 (b)

ACTION: Councilor Dill moved to remove Michael Freeman, Chet Chea and Chad Tumblin from the Planning Commission; and requested the Clerk to check the attendance records of the other Board and Commission members to be sure they were in compliance with the County's policy.

Motion carried unanimously by Council Members present.

Item (7) PLANNING COMMISSION / MOTION TO OPEN SPECIAL APPLICATION PERIOD

ACTION: Councilor Dill moved to open a special application period for the Planning Commission for a period of two weeks beginning March 2, 2016.

Motion carried unanimously by Council Members present.

Item (8) BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS INTERVIEWS

(a) Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission (4 vacancies)

The following individuals appeared before the Committee of the Whole and gave their personal presentations:

1.	Ernest Hamilton	-	District 22
2.	Matthew Hermes	-	District 26
3.	Mark Housley	-	District 26
4.	Herman Roberts, Jr.	-	District 25
5	Zackany Wilcon		District 00

5. Zackary Wilson - District 22

By ballot vote, the applicants Ernest Hamilton, Mark Housley, Herman Roberts, Jr. and Zachary Wilson were elected to fill the four vacancies on the Greenville County Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission.

(b) Planning Commission (4 vacancies)

1. Steven Bichel - District 21

The following individuals appeared before the Committee of the Whole and gave their personal presentations:

2.	Christopher Harrison	-	District 21
<u> </u>			DISTINCE

- 3. Nick Hollingshad District 20
- 4. Fred Moore District 24
- ACTION: Councilor Dill moved to hold the vote for the Planning Commission until all applications had been received.

After a brief discussion, Councilor Dill withdrew his motion to hold.

ACTION: Councilor Burns moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation Steven Bichel, Christopher Harrison, Nick Hollingshad, and Fred Moore to fill four vacancies on the Planning Commission.

Motion carried by all Council members present.

Item (9) ADJOURNMENT

ACTION: Councilor Kirven moved to adjourn the meeting at 5:23 p.m.

Motion to adjourn carried unanimously by Council Members present.

Respectfully submitted:

Theresa B. Kizer, Clerk to Council