MINUTES COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY AND HUMAN SERVICES

September 8, 2015 5:00 P.M. CONFERENCE ROOM D - COUNTY SQUARE

Pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act, notice of the meeting date, time, place and agenda was posted on the bulletin board at the entrance of the Council Office and mailed to the newspapers, radio stations and television stations.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT:

Chairman Liz Seman Councilor Lottie Gibson Councilor Lynn Ballard Councilor Willis Meadows

COMMITTEE MEMBER(S) ABSENT:

Vice Chairman Joe Baldwin

STAFF PRESENT:

Jeffrey D. Wile, Assistant County Attorney John Vandermosten, Interim Assistant County Administrator Debbie Templeton, Administrative Assistant Helen E. Wood, Clerk to Public Safety Committee

OTHERS PRESENT:

David Armstrong-Greater Greenville Sanitation District Roy Earnest-Greater Greenville Sanitation District Allen 'Bunk' Johnson-Greater Greenville Sanitation District Karen Nionquit-Greater Greenville Sanitation District

CALL TO ORDER:

INVOCATION:

Liz Seman Chairman

Lynn Ballard Councilor

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

ACTION: Councilor Lottie Gibson moved to approve the minutes of the Committee on Public Safety and Human Services' meeting of August 11, 2015. Motion carried unanimously by all Council members present.

BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

Downtown Airport Commission (1vacancy) James Wall (D22) – Incumbent

ACTION: Chairman Liz Seman forwarded the nomination of James Wall to the Committee of the Whole for approval to fill the one vacancy on the Downtown Airport Commission. Motion carried unanimously by all Council members present.

> Airport Environs Planning Commission (2 vacancies) Brad Medcalf (D21) – Incumbent

ACTION: Chairman Liz Seman forwarded the nomination of James Medcalf to the Committee of the Whole for approval to fill the one of two vacancies on the Airport Environs Planning Commission. Motion carried unanimously by all Council members present.

> Greater Greenville Sanitation Commission (1vacancy) Roy A. Earnest (D19) – New David Armstrong (D19) – New Allen 'Bunk' Johnson (D25) – New Karen Nionquit (D19) – New

ACTION: Chairman Liz Seman forwarded the nomination of David Armstrong to the Committee of the Whole for approval to fill the one vacancy on the Greater Greenville Sanitation Commission. Motion carried unanimously by all council members present.

ADJOURNMENT

ACTION: Chairman Liz Seman moved to adjourn the meeting of the Committee on Public Safety and Human Services. Without objection, the meeting adjourned at 5:26 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Debbie Templeton, Administrative Assistant

Greenville County Council PSHS Committee