

Proclamation

On a motion from Chairman **Bob Taylor** Members of Greenville County Council wish to honor the outstanding leadership provided by

Lisa Stevens and acknowledge all the citizens who served on the

Greenville Citizen Roads Advisory Commission

WHEREAS, the eighteen member Greenville Citizen Roads Advisory Commission was created by County Council in December 2013 to consider proposals for road improvements and related projects within Greenville County's boundary; and

WHEREAS, in January of 2014 Council added a non-voting 19th member to be the chairperson of the committee, and then unanimously selected Lisa Stevens to be the chairperson; and

WHEREAS, under the bold and effective leadership of Mrs. Stevens, the Commission began a series well publicized and well attended public meetings that were used to listen, educate, and gather input from the community on key road and road-related issues including road improvements, bridge projects, pedestrian amenities, and resurfacing; and

WHEREAS, thanks in part to the aggressive and skillful guidance from Mrs. Stevens, thousands of citizens participated in the process by either attending a meeting and/or completing an online survey, corresponding via email, learning of ideas via social media, or attending a social event where the Commission was a topic of discussion; and

WHEREAS, after hours of examination of the public input, thought and discussion, the Commission created and then submitted an extensive report that included a prioritized list of projects with a value attached to each; and

WHEREAS, that report serves as the core of the Transportation Projects Funding Referendum Ordinance, which will give the citizens of Greenville County the option to vote on funding the hundreds of projects addressed in the report;

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the County Council does hereby honor the leadership provided by Mrs. Lisa Stevens and expresses great appreciation to her and all who served so passionately and skilfully on the Greenville County Citizen Roads Advisory Commission.

Signed this 19th day of August, 2014



