GREENVILLE COUNTY COUNCIL COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE

MINUTES October 2, 2012

4:33 p.m. County Square - Conference Room D

Pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act, notice of the meeting date, time, place and agenda was posted on the bulletin board at County Square and posted on the County's web page for all media and concerned citizens to access and review.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT:

CHAIRMAN BUTCH KIRVEN FRED PAYNE JIM BURNS
VICE CHAIRMAN BOB TAYLOR DAN RAWLS WILLIS MEADOWS
JOE BALDWIN SID CATES XANTHENE NORRIS
LIZ SEMAN LOTTIE GIBSON

COMMITTEE MEMBERS ABSENT:

JOE DILL

STAFF PRESENT:

JOE KERNELL, County Administrator MARK TOLLISON, County Attorney THERESA KIZER, Clerk to Council REGINA MCCASKILL, Deputy Clerk to Council BOB MIHALIC, Governmental Relations Officer JOHN HANSLEY, Deputy County Administrator

OTHERS PRESENT:

NONE

CALL TO ORDER Chairman Butch Kirven

INVOCATION Councilor Lottie Gibson

Item (3) APPROVAL OF MINUTES

ACTION: Councilor Norris moved to approve the minutes of the Regular Committee of the Whole meeting

of September 18, 2012.

Motion carried unanimously by all members present.

Item (4) BOARDS AND COMMISSION INTERVIEWS AND NOMINATIONS

(a) Committee on Finance

1. Accommodations Tax Advisory Committee (1 vacancy)

ACTION: On behalf of the committee, Councilor Taylor nominated B. J. Koonce to fill the one vacancy on the Accommodations Tax Advisory Committee.

Motion carried unanimously by all members present.

(b) Committee on Planning and Development

1. Historic Preservation Commission (3 vacancies)

ACTION: On behalf of the committee, Councilor Payne nominated Ruth Butler, Kelly Odom and Ann

Sherard to fill the three vacancies on the Historic Preservation Commission.

ACTION: Councilor Payne nominated Rick Owens to the Historic Preservation

Commission.

Councilor Norris stated she endorsed Rick Owens.

ACTION: Councilor Seman moved to close nominations and forward the applicants to a ballot vote.

Motion carried unanimously by all members present.

(c) Committee on Public Safety and Human Services

1. Greenville Airport Commission (1 vacancy)

ACTION: On behalf of the committee, Councilor Gibson nominated Douglas McGrath to fill the one

vacancy on the Greenville Airport Commission.

ACTION: Councilor Meadows nominated Jim Wall to the Greenville Airport Commission.

ACTION: Councilor Gibson moved to close nominations and forward the applicants to a ballot vote.

Motion carried unanimously by all members present.

2. Greater Greenville Sanitation (1 vacancy)

ACTION: On behalf of the committee, Councilor Gibson nominated Walter Easterling to fill the one vacancy

on the Greater Greenville Sanitation Commission.

Motion carried unanimously by all members present.

3. Metropolitan Sewer Subdistrict (2 vacancies)

ACTION: On behalf of the committee, Councilor Gibson nominated William Lindsey and Graham Proffitt,

III to fill the two vacancies on the Metropolitan Sewer Subdistrict Board.

ACTION: Councilor Gibson moved to close nominations.

Motion carried unanimously by all members present.

(d) Committee on Public Works and Infrastructure

1. Museum Commission (2 vacancies)

ACTION: On behalf of the committee, Councilor Meadows nominated G. Scott Kilgore and Harry Ussery to

fill the two vacancies on the Museum Commission.

ACTION: Councilor Cates moved to close nominations.

Motion carried unanimously by all members present.

Item (5) BOARDS AND COMMISSION NOMINATIONS FROM COUNCIL MEMBERS

Old Mill Estates Special Tax District (2 vacancies)

ACTION: Councilor Cates nominated Pauline Brown and Raymond Hammond Sr. to fill the two vacancies on

the Old Mill Estates Special Tax District.

ACTION: Councilor Cates moved to close nominations.

Motion carried unanimously by all members present.

Devenger Pointe Special Tax District (2 vacancies)

ACTION: Councilor Burns nominated Lee Kazian and Gail Randall to fill the two vacancies on the Devenger

Pointe Special Tax District.

Without objection, motion carried.

Devenger Tax District (2 vacancies)

ACTION: Councilor Burns nominated Richard Draper, Jr. to fill a vacancy on the Devenger Tax District.

Without objection, motion carried.

Sterling Community Tax Commission (2 vacancies)

ACTIONI: Councilor Norris nominated Dr. Allen Freeman to fill a vacancy on the Sterling Community Tax

Commission.

Without objection, motion carried.

	Donaldson Fire Service Area (1 vacancy)
ACTION:	Councilor Gibson nominated Douglas Meyer to fill the one vacancy on the Donaldson Fire Service Area.
	Without objection, motion carried.
	Lake Cunningham Fire District (1 vacancy – elected board)
ACTION:	Councilor Cates nominated Roland Pittman to fill the one vacancy on the Lake Cunningham Fire District.
	Without objection, motion carried.
	Autumn Hills Special Tax District (1 vacancy)
ACTION:	Councilor Gibson nominated Jana Stankus to fill the one vacancy on the Autumn Hills Special Tax District.
ACTION:	Councilor Cates moved to close nominations.
	Motion carried unanimously by all members present.
Item (6)	<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>
ACTION:	Councilor Rawls moved to adjourn the meeting.
	Without objection, the Committee of the Whole meeting was adjourned at 4:51 p.m.
	Respectfully submitted:

Theresa B. Kizer, Clerk to Council